NSG's Naylor Resigns
April 18, 2012

by Penny Stacey, pstacey@glass.com

NSG Group president and CEO Craig Naylor has resigned from the company, effective today, just two years after being named to the post in April 2010. Company officials have attributed Naylor's decision to leave to "fundamental disagreements."

"Craig Naylor's decision to tender his resignation reflected fundamental disagreements with the board on company strategy," says Katsuji Fujimoto, NSG Group chair. "This is regrettable, but we thank Craig for his efforts over the past two years and wish him well in the future. Our priority now is to concentrate on the future development of the company."

Naylor will remain with the company as a board member and as an executive officer.

Keiji Yoshikawa, who had been named chief project management officer for the company during a February 2012 re-organization, has been named as Naylor's replacement.

In his capacity as president and CEO, Yoshikawa assumes overall responsibility for overseeing the profitable operations and development of the NSG Group.

With the departure of Naylor, the company has announced several other personnel moves. Clemens Miller has been appointed representative executive officer, executive vice president and chief operating officer. As COO, Miller will take direct responsibility for the day-to-day management of all of the Group's operations.

Mark Lyons will continue in the role of chief financial officer but also has been appointed representative executive officer.

Naylor joined the company with a resume that included a 36-year stint with Wilmington, Del.-based DuPont, serving most recently as group vice president for the company up until 2006. He joined NSG just seven months after another notable NSG executive, Stuart Chambers, stepped down from his post as president and CEO in August 2009—just 14 months after his appointment to the position in June 2008. Fujimoto had served as president and CEO for eight months—between the time that Chambers left the company and Naylor joined in April 2010.

Chambers had succeeded Fujimoto—who was named CEO in August 2007 (but had previously served as president). At that time, Fujimoto served in the position for less than a year, from August 2007 until June 2008 when Chambers took over—making Yoshikawa the worldwide company's fourth leader in just five short years. Fujimoto remains chair of the company.

This story is an original story by USGlass magazine/USGNN™. Subscribe to USGlass magazine.
Subscribe to receive the free e-newsletter.