NFRC Fall Meeting Continues Today; New Board Members Announced

The National Fenestration Rating Council's (NFRC) Fall Meeting continued today in Arlington. In an early morning session NFRC chairperson Marcia Falke presented an alternative to the NFRC Site Built program. According to meeting reports, "the NFRC continues to move full-speed ahead with the Component Modeling Approach (CMA), and is working with its members to develop the program appropriately. While NFRC maintains its commitment to deliver the final program to meet California's non-residential deadline, this proposed alternative will account for all possible scenarios. It's a working alternative to Site-Built, and is not an all-encompassing solution, as CMA will be."

The Research & Technology Committee Block of meetings also convened today. During the Research Subcommittee several members presented reports on a number of projects including U-factor rating of domed skylights and condensation resistance procedure for the non-residential CMA.

In addition, the NFRC board election results were announced as well. Beginning next month the following members will assume or continue positions on the NFRC board of directors:

  • General Interest Category: Kerry Haglund, Center for Sustainable Building Research, University of Minnesota;
  • General Interest Category: Jeffrey Harris, Alliance to Save Energy;
  • Fenestration Industry: Joseph A. Hayden, Pella Corporation;
  • Fenestration Industry, Commercial: Mike Manteghi, TRACO; and
  • Laboratory Category: Michael J. Thoman, Architectural Testing Inc.

NFRC meetings continue today through the board meeting Thursday morning.

No reproduction, in print, electronic or any form without the expressed written permission of
Key Communications Inc. 540-720-5584.