Bill Gorman Named AAMA Honorary Member after 26 Years of Service
November 2, 2011

At the National Fall Conference in Palm Springs, Calif., Schaumburg, Ill.-based American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) board of directors unanimously approved a motion to award Bill Gorman, a former engineer at Milgard who continued to represent Milgard with his active participation in AAMA and National Fenestration Rating Council following his retirement in 2001, with Honorary Membership status with AAMA.

The honorary member distinction is recommended for an individual who has shown exceptional dedication to AAMA, made considerable contributions to achieving the association's objectives, held multiple leadership positions and/or maintained continuous participation for 20 years or more. This complimentary membership is awarded at the discretion of the board of directors by a three-fourths majority vote.

Gorman has served on more than 35 committees, task groups and councils. He began actively participating in AAMA in 1985 and has attended the AAMA National and Western Region events consistently since 1990.

Throughout the years, Gorman has been an active participant in AAMA, having served in leadership positions, including as chairman of numerous committees and task groups, as well as president and vice president in the Western Region. Ray Garries of Jeld-Wen Inc., who nominated Gorman for this status, notes, "Bill has been committed to this industry, driving various initiatives and remaining dedicated over the years to creating progress in the fenestration marketplace."

Gorman has been revered in the past for his notable work and contributions. In 2002, he accepted a distinguished sponsor award on behalf of Milgard for its promotion of the InstallationMasters™ Program. Additionally, he was the 1998 recipient of the Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award.

Honorary members are eligible for the benefits and services provided by the association without paying annual dues, but are ineligible to vote or serve in leadership positions. In order to be eligible, individuals must be retired from the industry and may not be employed by or be currently providing consulting services for a member or prospective member company.

In the last 10 years, only three other individuals have earned this distinction: Doug Adams of Bronze Craft in 2006, Tom Scheg of Mikron in 2007 and Paul Warner of Quanexin 2008. AAMA currently recognizes only 10 individuals with this distinction.

For additional information regarding membership, honorary membership benefits or how to nominate a candidate, please contact AAMA's membership coordinator Jacqueline Saenz at

Subscribe to USGlass magazine.
Subscribe to receive the free e-newsletter.